Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over the past year I've been trying to teach myself to hunt. I grew up in CA with my father dove and quail hunting, but nothing bigger. I also don't have any family or friends (I work in tech) that hunt, so I decided that I was going to figure it out myself.

I have harvested deer before, but it was on my father in law's land in ID and I wouldn't exactly say I hunted it (we just drove around in his truck until we spotted one).

I've been going crazy with YouTube videos of local hunts and professional's giving guides. I've also been reading over tons of maps of the area and info about game behaviors. But I don't have much time to spend scouting on foot.

In short, I drew a tag for Wasatch Mtns West, ALW, and was hoping to get some pointers about where to avoid and what to look for in this area. Also, what kinds of ranges should I expect to be taking shots at. I am very comfortable out to 200, but I haven't really shot past that. I also plan to be using my 6.5 Grendel rifle, so I don't want to reach out past 350yds.

Any kind of help would be fantastic.

As a side note, I will not be going alone. My 69yr father is going to be coming with me, for moral support? He hasn't been deer hunting since the 70s, so we'll both be fairly lost.

·
Registered
749 Posts
There are lots of deer in that unit but there will be lots of hunters due to the many roads and 4 wheeler trails it also has. My advice would be hunt during the week and don’t be picky if a legal buck shows himself. We see bucks every year while hunting elk on that unit during archery season.

·
Registered
602 Posts
About the best thing you can do is go into the season figuring your not going to harvest an animal this year but your going to learn a lot. Get out and hunt, make mistakes and learn some new things and you just might get lucky.