Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been bowhunting for a few years now and enjoy it alot. Last night I made a stalk on a really nice deer and got within 115 yards of him. I did not know he went to the right of me and therefore I was not paying much attention to that area. I was hidden to the side of a pine tree and on the other side I heard him take off. It did not sound like he went that far, but I could be wrong.

Question: If there has not been that much pressure on him and his buddies, do mule deer generally come back to their area?

This is the second time I have seen him in this area of only 2 days of even being up there. So since Friday, he had not gone anywhere. He was definitely a pleasant site to see after hiking in again. I am just not giving myself enough daylight. I should have been up there 2 hours earlier to get on the game trail he took and then waited for him to move.

Anyway, let me know what you think about mule deer and even elk about what they do once they have been spooked.

Thanks,

·
Registered
8,945 Posts
I would say with teh elk if tehy get pushed to much they will get out of that area. that what i ahve notic with the elk.The deer i have seen the same but then i have seen them stay in the area to. last week i hunted soem deer that took off on the first sound or just seeing us they where gone. but like you said it didnt sound like they took off and keeped going. it sounds like they took off an dtehn just start walking again. I would get up there ealryer and get set up on his trail and wait for him to come by. good luck.

·
Registered
210 Posts