Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been buying elk points for 5 years now, so I'm not looking for a trophy quite yet. I got a cow last January and the wife agrees that it tastes better than the deer and ducks I've brought home the last 6 years. So she's sending me out for more. I've done hours of research on a few areas in the northern areas where I could start. I'm still trying to make some decisions as early as possible. I've debated on not asking questions, but I figure if someone wants to get after me for the noob questions, go for it.

1. Are the odds the same as seeing a spike elk on an LE unit as they are seeing any elk in a general unit? (Vague question, I know.)

2. I've been looking into North Slope for the general. Is it possible to get away from the crowd, or is it like Ogden Bay opening morning of the duck hunt?

·
Registered
527 Posts
1) subjective to the amount of work you put forth. Those that work for it find spikes when looking or any bulls when looking.

2) Yes depending on the amount of work you put in with the caveat that one year a secluded remote location may be all yours while the next it will be crawling with dudes. Solitude on the Unitas is not just getting in deeper but getting in where no one else is during that week.

·
Registered
1,376 Posts
General season elk last year was exactly like Ogden bay
People driving atvs and utvs every where.
About the same as the guy driving his boat through your decoys 20 min before light.
Did see some funny stuff. 10 trucks parked on the highway glassing the same spot that they couldn't get to in their trucks. 5 days in a row. One tried to drive up the trail and ripped his steering linkage off the truck.
But if your willing to work and get far far away you can have a good hunt.
We were about 4 miles deep before we felt like we were starting to get away from the crowds.

·
Registered
2,148 Posts