Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6,300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do any of you hunt big game with a handgun? I have a .44 Ruger Bisley that has been a safe queen for the past 20 years. If I draw a deer tag I am considering this an option. It would be a challenge (for me anyway). I suppose I could carry a rifle and the hogleg, and if opportunity presents itself I could use the handgun. Thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
9,621 Posts
I've been hunting with a handgun now for over 20 years off and on. I have used the .44 mag, and .357 mag in revolvers. Then comes my TC Contender in .30 and 357 Herrett and 7-30 Waters. I have taken everything from javelina in Arizona to bull elk in Colorado. It can be additive and a lot of fun.

·
Administrator
21,349 Posts
Do any of you hunt big game with a handgun? I have a .44 Ruger Bisley that has been a safe queen for the past 20 years. If I draw a deer tag I am considering this an option. It would be a challenge (for me anyway). I suppose I could carry a rifle and the hogleg, and if opportunity presents itself I could use the handgun. Thoughts?
I do some handgunning. I never could hit anything past 50 yards with the Ruger sights. I prefer a more target-type sight that's stock on the S&W wheel guns.

All my hunting revolvers have factory trigger jobs

My eyesight is not all that good so I try to practice a lot, 25 and 75 yards. I try my best to use a rangefinder and 75 yards is my limit with a 44 mag. My other go-to hunting revolver is a 460 S&W and it is deadly out to 150 yards. I practice with it at 50 and 150 yards.

I approach my handgun hunting in the same manner as I do for Bow Hunting; stealth, the wind, no movement and clean close range kills. I've been carrying and trying to use a monopod shooting stick these days.