·
Registered
4,788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reactions: MuscleWhitefish

·
Registered
3,686 Posts
Bears do not have a convenient place to get a good handhold for dragging purposes.......especially when your hands are greasy from gutting them. I've found that a hay hook in the lower jaw works pretty good if you do t want to cut them up. Good luck in the draws.-------SS

·
Registered
256 Posts
9 points going into the draw this year............. Last year the odds on the unit I applied for were one in thirty nine, I wonder how bad they will be this year?

·
Registered
1,445 Posts
What would you like to do Dallan? You start with 2 options. Bait or hounds? Then what area do you want to hunt? Some of the great units are San Juan, La Sal, Nebo, and Wasatch west.
You will find bears anywhere you find elk. Baiting is a lot of work but is really fun. If I can help ya or answer any questions you have, send me a message. I love bear hunting. Im still learning but its a rush!

·
Registered
849 Posts
9 points going into the draw this year............. Last year the odds on the unit I applied for were one in thirty nine, I wonder how bad they will be this year?
Good luck. Hopefully the area you want will have a better year on acorns than last. All the bear literally disappeared towards the end of September and into October as you well remember. I got pretty lucky!

·
Registered
849 Posts
Bears do not have a convenient place to get a good handhold for dragging purposes.......especially when your hands are greasy from gutting them. I've found that a hay hook in the lower jaw works pretty good if you do t want to cut them up. Good luck in the draws.-------SS