Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Where are some good spots to find catfish on the bear river? What are some good baits. I have never done it before and thought it would be fun to take my boy out and try to catch us some. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
3,210 Posts
We use to fish down by the big bend on the road to the Bird Refuge. We would set up several set lines(using a boat), build a big fire and fish all night, running the lines every hour or so. Shrimp, chicken liver, even worms make good bait. It was good times and we would catch a lot of nice big Cat's.

·
Registered
2,351 Posts
BPs setup sounds like a blast!! I went last year a couple times just north of the refuge (the name of that little town escapes me). Anyway, me and my wife caught a few little ones using chicken liver and shrimp. Liver worked the best. They were big enough to get fillets off of and have a nice fry. We weren't able to stay for more than a couple hours either time. I want to try and get there at night this spring and do the fire deal. I hear thats when you get really big ones to hit the shrimp.

If your taking little ones be careful. People can be slobs on that river. Lots of bad stuff from dirty diapers to fishing line with hooks on them laying around. Make sure you check out your spot first and do some cleanup if needed before unloading the little guy. The spot I fished last time was terrible and I was glad I didnt have my kids that trip. Oh and depending on the time of year the mosquitos can grow vampire fangs so bring a few cans of spray.

·
1,666 Posts
Spots that were already mentioned.

I would advise you to bathe in bug spray before you go.

I always had the best luck on fresh caught crawdads.

·
Registered
1,519 Posts