Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I have been hunting various big game now for 14 years, but always with a rifle. Now I would love to get into hunting with a bow!

Where do I start?

• Should I go into one of the local archery shops to get set up?
  • Which archery shop to you recommend in Northern Utah?
  • Do I buy new or used?
  • Where could I expect to end up price wise on a new bow set up?
  • Is there a certain time of year that the shops offer better deals?
  • Anything else I should take into consideration?

2022 LE Wasatch Mid Season Bull

Plant People in nature Wood Natural landscape Tree

·
Registered
3,715 Posts
Nice bull! Congrats!

Get measured for your draw length and then visit every shop you can and shoot as many makes and models as you can. Starting out you don't need to go top shelf right out of the gate.

A bow is just the start. Accessories all add up but you will need a few.

Unless you have some friends that are knowledgeable I would go new to start. Used can be good but you need to know what to check.

If you are in the Ogden area check out the Weber archery range.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Practice, practice, practice. One thing I've been doing with my boys for the last several years are the 3d archery shoots. Total Archery Challenge is a fun one, you'll get a ride to the top of the mountain on a ski lift then walk down the course shooting at 3d foam targets. Its good practice to shoot outside in the mountains in hunting type situations and a lot of fun. There's several different shoots throughout the year, pick one and go.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Looks like you’ve had some great rifle hunts!