Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've finally buckled down and dropped an exuberant sum of money to order the components to build a muzzleloader. While my relatively non-existent experience with wood working makes $1,---.-- dollars in components and tools a bit of a gamble, I've spent the last 8 or 9 months stressing, pondering, researching, and learning as much as I physically could about the actual process of building a firearm, from simple wood working techniques to drilling, pinning, and tapping. Even in the field of modern firearms, I've searched in hopes of coming across even minor pieces of information and tips. In my credit, I have some experience molding clay and carving detailed linoleum stamps with a flair for the artistic.

So now I'm here, asking for further help. While help may be a little over exaggerated, any information, criticism, or ideas, regardless of magnitude, would be greatly appreciated. It's not that I'm without confidence in my handywork, however, I know better than to pretend that I'm qualified to make claims of experience in such endeavors. This thread also serves as a place to vent and converse if not to blog. Perhaps my experiences and external input will help some other ambitious googler or forum member in the future.

In the last two days, I've put in about 11 solid hours of inletting. 9 hours to finish inletting the butt plate, and I've put about two hours into more finely shaping the lock channel. I doubt I'll keep that pace up, but starting with the butt plate has given me a little more experience inletting and has boosted my confidence a metric tid-bit. Despite the obvious rough inletting done by the manufacturer, there is still a significant degree of detail work and shaping to be done.