Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what are some good canadian goose calls and duck calls that aren't too expensive and easy to learn on

·
Registered
6,336 Posts
I picked up a Primos Honky Tonk Friday.... Called on it a couple times before I left (although I'd had a borrowed one for about six months prior) and then over the weekend called in a flock of ten, a flock of thirty totally cupped into the dekes that my hunting buddy dropped two out of and then had a single circling me calling back for about ten minutes or so yesterday. I'm no pro caller but it takes hardly any air/back pressure to work and like my buddy said.... proof is in the pudding... or in this case, the pictures. He hardly calls at all when he calls at em (less is more theory) but I know he blows a Sean Mann short reed. Hope that helps... his Sean Mann is pretty sweet... he let me play around with it a little bit but I will ALWAYS have that Honky Tonk with me from now on... thats one cheap (21.99) but extremely effective call.

·
Registered
50 Posts
I'll have to throw in my vote for the Honky Tonk as well... it's the only short reed call that I can make decent sounds with. I've tried the Quackhead Goozilla, the Canada Hammer, the Primos shaved reed, and the Knight & Hale Pit Boss, and I can't get any of them to sound near as good that Honky Tonk.

·
Registered
50 Posts
i have a ? to add on wich ones wont freeze when it gets cold

·
Registered
6,336 Posts
Does it get cold enough here that the reeds freeze? I've not ever run into that problem with my duck calls... and I'd think it'd affect the longer reeds more.... I don't know for sure though... I mostly just run into problems with duck calls sticking... blow hot air into your call against your hand until it squeals and that seems to break them free to call again. 8)

·
Registered
6,336 Posts