Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting started in upland game hunting and I'm already obsessed with chukars, although I haven't seen any yet! I've only been out a few times and I realize that I'm still learning and paying my dues, but I sure would like to bag a couple before the season ends. Last week I went out to the Cedar Mountains and I did run into a single set of tracks which eventually disappeared in the rocks. So I know I was in the right area but I don't have a dog (should have one by next season) so I may have walked right past them. Anyway, I wonder if I didn't go high enough. Is there a certain elevation where chukars like to hang out? Do they migrate up and down on a daily basis? One author says that the snow drives them lower, while another author says when the snow piles up, they go to the upper ridgelines. Which is it? Are there any particular counties or mountain ranges where I might have some luck? I'm not asking for GPS coordinates of your favorite spots, but some clues for success would be great!

·
Registered
599 Posts
I saw about a dozen of them hangin out on the road up to Lost Creek today. If it wasnt on private property and I had my shot gun there would be a couple in the oven right now. :D

·
Registered
87 Posts
I am pretty sure this has been posted before but it doesn't hurt to include it again.

The following site will give you a pretty good idea about Chukar Hunting.

http://www.iron-horse.us/chukar/how_to_ ... ukar.shtml

You can find Chukars most anywhere in the mountains of the west desert and you will find them at various elevations but generally they are close to steep rocky areas that provide them protection from predators (and humans). There is also a guzzler map on the DWR site that will give you a general idea of where birds have been in the past.

A dog is not necessary (I have only had one for 3 years) but having one makes the hunt more interesting.

·