Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I am fairly new to the hunting gig and want to learn so much more. So if anyone is willing to share an email with me and is okay with answering a million questions in general about hunting I'd appreciate it :mrgreen:

HOWEVER! My question is about going after coyotes in the Cache Valley area. My brother and I got our hunters ed earlier this year and have been itching to start somewhere. We figured a few coyotes would be a fun memory and a good beginning. We don't know the WHERE for doing this however. I have looked at https://dwrapps.utah.gov/huntboundary/hbstart and wanted to ask if the Green area "Federal" is okay to call in and shoot coyotes, and also what about the yellow "State" land is that alright as well?

Thanks, if there is a better map you can refer me to that would be awesome!

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
If you are new to the hunting gig and want to see the animal you are after I would advise you to pick a different quarry.

I have been hunting my whole life and at almost 42 years old have had a few shots at coyotes and never killed one while pusuing elk or deer.

I have often thought about pursing them primarily but it seems like you need to make coyotes your primary focus to be successful. They are whiley for a reason. Sounds like fun if you really are set on hunting coyotes and there are many good people on here that can help you out.

However, may I recommed rabbits or squirrels for someone just getting into hunting? ☺

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If you are new to the hunting gig and want to see the animal you are after I would advise you to pick a different quarry.

I have been hunting my whole life and at almost 42 years old have had a few shots at coyotes and never killed one while pusuing elk or deer.