Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still a rookie at this whole muzzleloader thing and have made a mistake or two with my new muzzy I bought this year. I took it out a few weeks ago for the first time and was dead center but 6" low so I made a few adjustments UP but the bullet placement kept going LEFT (I am pretty sure I pulled on the fifth shot...). I took it home and looked at it and I thought the problem was the adjustments knobs being installed incorrectly so I swapped them places then re-bore sighted the gun. Good to go for the next outing I thought.
20150729_110555.jpg

My buddy invited me out with them to shoot using his chronograph. While I was getting things ready my buddy says "hey, your scope is mounted wrong." Then he shows me that I had it mounted turned 90 degrees. Well no wonder on the last outing I would adjust UP and the bullet placement would go LEFT. We took the scope off in the field and mounted it correctly and swapped the knobs back to the proper places but now the bore sighting I did was no longer valid. We tried shooting it anyways to see what velocities it was producing. I wanted to shoot a shot at the low end of the scale and one at the higher end of the scale to get an idea of the range the gun would produce. I was hoping to achieve 2,000+ fps.
20150822_073413.jpg

My setup is a CVA Accura V2 LR (30" barrel), Vortex Crossfire II scope, 240 grain Hornady XTP in .44 mag with the green Hornady sabots, Blackhorn 209, CCI magnum primers.

First shot using 90 grains of powder. I think the gun does not like this light of a powder charge.
20150822_071805.jpg

Next shot. Same bullet with 120 grains. Much better! But oops! Took out a main support on the target holder...
20150822_072149.jpg
20150822_072251.jpg

Then my buddy wanted to see what 150 grains would do. I thought I remembered reading something about not going above 120 grains but we tried it anyways...
20150822_073607.jpg