Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I failed to draw a buck deer tag and do not have good odds of drawing an elk tag this year, I think I may try doe pronghorn for the first time. I have been building up points for a few years and I believe I am up to 3 points, which should give me decent odds at drawing.

I don't have any close friends that hunt pronghorn and have never tagged along on a pronghorn hunt either. It's likely that the pronghorn hunt will be done solo. I live in the northern part of the state, and I have family that live in the Richfield area that I can stay with, but I am also not opposed to setting up camp.

For a pronghorn first timer doing it alone, what area would you recommend?

While I do believe actual hunting experience trumps reading about it, I'm not opposed to books on the subject. Any that you've read and can recommend?

Any general advice and tips are always welcome.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,673 Posts
If you're thinking of the plateau hunt, there are lots of really cool places to camp. Some of the other units like aren't as good for camping. Play your cards right and there might not be a need to camp. I've done one day hunts on the San Rafael, Plateau, and Milford hunts.--SS

·
Registered
469 Posts
The cache/rich unit can be a good one, but it has been pretty shot out over the last few years. I would be more than happy to give you some spots to go if you draw that unit. I have been hunting it for over 20 years, and have had some really good success. Good luck, and welcome to the addiction that is antelope hunting. It's on of my very favorite hunts every year.

·
Registered
6,608 Posts
A few thoughts,

SW desert is out------No doe permits.

Plateau will be busy with 600 permits. Zero points should pull this permit...
Cold camping around Thanksgiving--------Late opener, 11-16.

3 points should pull the 2nd doe hunt on Cache----10-3 opener---better camping.

·
Registered
153 Posts