Utah Wildlife Forum banner

Elk Control Tag

• Had one, filled it.

Votes: 9 26.5%
  • Had one, ate it.

Votes: 11 32.4%
  • Will not participate in the Elk Control Program.

Votes: 14 41.2%
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,674 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
I was hunting the Wasatch for deer this year. We saw a lot of deer. We saw even more elk. I bought a control tag and filled it on a day where I saw three herds of at least 30 animals each. I've been hunting the same area since 2006 and I saw the most elk I've ever seen this year. I know this doesn't jive with what others are seeing and I'm not making a judgment either way about the state of the elk herds. just sayin what I seen. I will always support programs like this even if I don't plan on filling the tag because I LOVE OTC tags. If they sell em, I'll buy em.-----SS

Attachments

·
Registered
6,705 Posts
If you go back over my history, you'll see I have not been one of the doom and gloom guys for our elk herd on the Wasatch. I will say that having had a late cow tag last year and a control tag on 17B/C this year, I'm concerned. Through those two hunts I've yet to put eyes on a single cow elk, which is not normal for the areas I was hunting.

I love the idea of control tags if the unit is capable of sustaining it. I too enjoy the opportunity of OTC tags and hope that we can keep them available. Looks like you have a great spot. Congrats on filling the tag!

·
Registered
6,608 Posts
These elk control permits are OK on units were a zero elk population is desired.

But using them on the Wasatch has been like watching a train crash in slo-mo!

The Wasatch LE elk hunt WAS a fantastic hunt, now headed in the tank big time.
Sad, sad deal....

·
Registered
248 Posts
we only saw three cows at a distance I was not going to shoot, tried to move in closer but they weren't slowing down for nothing.
as has been said before, if I don't fill the tag it's a contribution to hopefully better the herds through winter