Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys... Like I previously have stated before, I'm brand new to elk hunting. Giving it my first shot this year with an OTC Any Bull tag. As I get ready for the season, I've got a question for you all (and no, it's not asking where to find the elk. I've lurked on here long enough to know how that gets answered ;-) )

I recently got myself a big back pack with a removable frame for hauling the elk after I shoot it. I was wondering what you all consider to be pack essentials. What do I need in my pack while I'm out on an elk hunt? Food? Hatchet? First aid kit? What do you guys carry out on the mountains?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
just going over it in my mind....in my pack----

Always:

medical supplies (ab pads, tape, gauze, mole skin, super glue, etc)
space blanket
fire starter
snacks
water (ideally in an msr bag w/ air bled out for noise reduction)
toilet paper
wind detector

Most of the time:

optics (situation dependant)
2 lite knives
Tag bags (part of a B.O.M.B. pack and 2 quarter bags)
7-10mm nitrile gloves
25' para cord
duct tape
zip ties
voile ski straps (18-24")
flagging - (marking a kill or LZ designation)
reflective surface (signal mirror, cell phone light. etc)
cow call
zip loc bag (keeps paper dry, pack out trash)
pouch of tuna

on occasion:

tent
sleeping bag
sleeping mat
backup socks

there's more but you get the idea

·
Registered
334 Posts
for day hunts here's my list

5 large pillow cases
2 knives
1 knife sharpener
lighters and matches
parachute cord
safety blanket
compass
head lamp and flashlight
Rain gear, beanie, gloves
food & water for the day
camera and extra batteries

from there it's all weather dependent.

with that kit you can make a fire and spend the night no matter the weather.

hope you smoke a nice bull up there and don't forget to post some pics here when you get back :)

cheers,
pete

·
Registered
2,423 Posts