Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So i got a late season cow hunt that starts next week, its my first time doing the late season. Alot of people are telling me to stay low, and work the junipers. I ran into this brute up in the higher elevations in the deep snow. Wouldn't you think that if this bulls up high still, that there would be some cows too? Any opinion is appreciated. If you have any ideas or advice, im all ears. PM me if you want.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
it would really depend on the depth of the snow. the picture you have doesn't really show a sufficient snow depth.

·
Registered
45 Posts
I shot my cow on the 2nd and they were still up high, not at the very top mind you but around 8K feet. Where my cow fell there was about 2 feet of snow on the ground, not enough to push them down low in my opinion.

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
cause down in Monroe, they are hanging in the fields just outside of town, poverty flats, etc. as low as you can go...

·
Registered
2,375 Posts
Just guessing but it sounds to me like current creek based off reading the posts plus I think thats the only area that has a cow elk hunt thats so short with it starting this late in the winter.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Just guessing but it sounds to me like current creek based off reading the posts plus I think thats the only area that has a cow elk hunt thats so short with it starting this late in the winter.
And Nine Mile/West Anthro-Avintaquin ... starts next Saturday :grin:
But there are as well several January hunts in Manti, which is what Hunter2015 seems to be talking about ...

·
Registered
5,769 Posts
Just think you get a twofer with that tag. The fetus should be big enough to eat ha ha.

If you havent found the elk already wait for the snow storm and look for tracks. Heck you can spot elk tracks going 40 mph on sled or wheeler. You can also spot tracks Mikes away with a spotting scope.