Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok technically I'm a second-timer as I hunted Idaho last year with a brother. But this is my first time going ground-up in my own area.

The snow was a game changer. I was going into this hunt feeling a little discouraged. My hunting partner backed out at the last minute. In all my scouting trips, I had failed to see a single elk (aside from trail cam pics). I wasn't seeing much sign and, even though the trail cam proved there were animals in there, I had very little confidence I could find them.

The snow changed everything.

I camped as close to the trailhead as I could. My original plan was to hike in as early as possible and glass from one of the high ridges as hunters poured into the drainages. With the snow, I felt that getting on the ridge in the dark was a bad idea. It has some nasty terrain that could easily lead to a broken leg or ankle, so I slept in. Maybe a little longer than intended. I hit the trail just before dawn and 2 groups had already gone in ahead.

The snow had stopped around 6 or 7 am, and I made it to the base of the ridge at 9. I topped up my water at a small lake and started up the ridge. I saw a few interesting tracks, and then about 2/3rd of the way up I came across a fresh set of tracks in the snow I thought might belong to a smaller bull elk. Larger, solo tracks. I started following them.

At some point he cut up a boulder field to the top of the ridge. Surprising. I had climbed those boulders during the summer and figured an elk would never use that route. I knew there were beds just over the ridge top and hoped he was leading me to one of them. Not the case. He continued along the ridge top, never stopping or slowing, just making a bee-line for wherever he was headed.