Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,993 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Had an awesome hunt Monday and wanted to share. I'm relatively new to hunting turkeys. Tagged along with a friend 2 years ago and bought a tag last year. I had a great opportunity at a bird last year, but being stubborn and unwilling to use anything other than my bow, missed on my only opportunity.

I did learn the patterns of some of the birds in the area, and vowed I would get after them this year and make it happen. In the weeks leading up to the hunt I had a lot of great scouting hikes and was seeing the birds hold to the same routine in a few different locations.

I saw plenty of nice long-bearded toms and gang after gang of jakes. One evening up scouting we had a dozen jakes come storming into us gobbling, and they didn't care we were there. They just sat there and gobbled at us standing in the middle of a clearing. I had very few days where I went up and didn't see birds. I went into the opener confident that if we were able to set up where I'd scouted the birds, we would be done before 7:00 A.m.

The morning of the opener we loaded up and headed up the trail on bike, and after a long ride to where we planned to ditch the bikes and head up the hill, we noticed two bikes already there. Immediately I knew that there were other hunters in the draw I wanted to be. I was a little thrown off, but they beat us there fair and square. We regrouped and went up a ridge adjacent to where I thought they would be set up. As we crested the ridge and could see across the draw, we saw them set up just as it was getting light, and sure enough about 400 yards up the draw from them a group of Jakes had come off roost and were working through the clearings straight towards them.