Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as I have posted in the past, I am new to muzzleloader this year and want to know more about fouling. From a few articles I have read, it seems like I should shoot with a fouled barrel. To do this, I have heard to put 20-30 grains with a balled up dry patch and shoot it to foul the barrel, and hunt with that. Thoughts? Am I off in what I have read and understand about this?

Thanks guys

·
Registered
2,954 Posts
depends on the gun/load and how you have practiced. I shoot with a clean barrel!! I have sighted in that way, I swab and clean the barrel after every shot. Other guys like a dirtier barrel and it helps them with accuracy. It also depends on the powder. If you're shooting a dirtier burning powder, fouling it before might not be a good idea.

·
Registered
10,047 Posts
The only guns that should require a fouling shot is some of the older roundball barrels. There is no need to foul any modern muzzleloader, inline or sidelock.

In fact best accuracy will be from a clean barrel, which means a quick swab between shots.

-DallanC

·
Super Moderator
9,776 Posts
I always shoot at targets the same way that I would do it in the field.

First shot is a clean barrel shot, second shot is from a fouled barrel, and possibly the third shot is from a fouled barrel. Then I'll swab it out.

So how many of you after you take a shot at a elk or a deer swab the barrel out between the first and second shot while the elk or deer is still standing there? I figure that as long as the animal is still standing I'll keep throwing lead at it without worrying about swabbing out the barrel. Now if the elk or deer takes off after the first shot I might and then again I might not swab the barrel out, it just all depends of what is happening at the moment.

·
Registered
10,047 Posts