Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
*()* (Haven't used the banana yet) :D
For those of us who still ride four-wheelers until we get to our hiking spot, What bikes do people have out there? Are there certain styles people have found to be better or worse than others? Just looking to get a new one and curious to see what people think.

·
Registered
71 Posts
I have a bombardier '02 500 outlander(new Can-am) and a Polaris '04 600 twin sportsman. They are both great. The bomb is my work horse and the polaris is the cush riding machine. The polaris is the best in my book.

·
Registered
4 Posts
2002 Grizzly....absolutely love it! Would like to buy the new one but can't justify the cabbage it would take to buy one.

·
Registered
1,137 Posts
Yamaha/Suzuki

I've owned an 03 Yamaha Grizzly and currently have an 05 Suzuki King Quad 700. Both have been top notch, and I went Suzuki on my second wheeler because in 05 they were the only company offering fuel injection. Yamaha has followed suit on the 07 and newer Grizzlies and if I was buying new today that would probably be my first choice.

Independent 4-wheel suspension is one of the key features I look for, as well as a solid 2x4/4x4, and 4x4 diff lock selection system. Suzuki and Yamaha have my favorite setups in these areas. Fuel injection is a plus on the newer bikes, In the past I've monkeyed with carbs for different altitudes, and had cut-out problems on steep angles at high elevations. The one possible downside is that the fuel injected quads do not like dead batteries. The quads I've had with carbs have seemed easier to get started with a dead battery, but fuel injection seems to require some juice to get things humming. Just means you need to use a trickle charger over the winter more diligently.

·
Registered
3,581 Posts