Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there an easy way to do it on your own? ;-) It wold be something that I have never done before.. I would like to make a lot of jerky, but I don't really want to pay someone $10 or more per pound to make it for me.. Anyone know of any good YouTube tutorials? Or is there anyone in the Ogden/Morgan area that just loves to cut up game and would like to help beginner out. Last year was my first year big game hunting and I just took the deer down to Arnold's in Ogden.

Is it going to be too hot this week to let the meat hang in my garage?

I have access to a dehydrator. I would need to go pick up a meat grinder. My dad really likes the summer sausage, so I have talked him into getting the stuff for that if I do this on my own.

Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated! :D

·
Registered
5,279 Posts
Hey Adam, ignore the nifty jackwang.

Processing your own game isn't too challenging, it just can be time consuming until you are familiar with it. Basically, what you are going to do is separate out each of the muscle groups and cut out anything you don't want to eat + silver skin. Double wrap in freezer paper, label and enjoy.

Jerky, are you talking ground jerky or sheet jerky?
Sheet jerky is harder to make without some tools, but it is tastier. I don't have any tutorial or something that I use (i don't make much as I prefer to eat these cuts as steaks/roasts). I like to slice with the grain for jerky (holds together better IMO) and make my slices less than 1/4" thick, then marinate and dehydrate. It is simple in theory, but getting good with the knives is the trick. If you have a meat slicer, lot easier. You can also make a box type thing to set the meat in and use as a guide to slice at the desired thickness.