Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
2,168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll admit it. I'm going to hopefully take advantage of the "Preference Point Loop Hole" this year to help my wife and brother both get a muzzleloader deer tag for the Manti unit. I've never cared or tried to understand it in the past, but I'm going to now. Due to younger kids/etc I've been putting the wife in for a preference point for a few years and she now has 4 points. My brother has 0 points. Assuming I put them in a group my understanding is they average the points to 2. If this is correct and I put them in for the 1st choice Anyweapon Thousand Lakes and 2nd choice Muzzleloader Manti I'm assuming they will not draw the 1st choice (see draw odds for both below), but due to the 2 pts will potentially draw the muzzleloader tag ahead of others who put in for the Manti as their 1st choice but only have 0 and 1 point? Is my assumption correct or am I way off. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
6,608 Posts
Any guess's as to how many are going to be applying for Thousand lakes general deer,
1st choice, this year????

Got a feeling the number of applicants is going to really climb...:!:.....

·
Super Moderator
9,659 Posts
Wouldn't it be even funnier if the WB changed the rules just before the draw to where if you don't draw your first choice you go into a pool with all the other applicants on your second choice?

Stranger things have happened.

·
Registered
9,973 Posts
Wouldn't it be even funnier if the WB changed the rules just before the draw to where if you don't draw your first choice you go into a pool with all the other applicants on your second choice?

Stranger things have happened.
That is the LE system. They just need to take your points if you draw any gen tag. So simple to fix, restores the system back to its original intent. Ah well.

-DallanC

·
Registered
6,608 Posts