Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working on developing a load for my 6mm Remington. I've never done this before, but it has been really fun so far. I used three shot groups and the OCW procedure to come to my current load. Then I went and shot a 10 shot group the other day and this is what I got (the red circle is from a different group):

IMR 7828 - 47.7 grains 10 shot group 8-7-15.jpg

What causes the two distinct groups? I'm going to go and shoot another couple of 10 shot groups this weekend to see if it was a one time deal, but I'm pretty sure this is a consistent issue I've been having. Out of the many three shot groups I shot to find this load I'd say a little more than half of them were two shots close and one shot out. But, those groups were fired round robin. The process for those groups was: from a clean barrel, fire two fouling shots. Then fire the first shot from each group (10 total) and clean the barrel. Fire two fouling shots and repeat for the second and then third shot of the groups. I let the barrel cool as needed after every two shots.

The rifle I'm shooting is an older Remington 700 BDL with a 22 inch barrel in 1:9 twist. The stock is not bedded and still has that pressure point in the fore end of the stock. If I can't get the rifle to shoot more consistently, I'll look into bedding the stock and removing the pressure pad. I'm single loading each round, and I'm shooting off the Caldwell rock junior front rest and Protektor rabbit ears for the back rest.

I settled on 47.7 grains of IMR7828 and 95 grain Nosler ballistic tips. Right now I'm using Winchester LR primers because that's what I have. I may try other primers in the future but haven't decided yet. I don't have a bullet comparator or any other equipment to measure where my bullet should be seated, so I just used the spec 2.825 in. The magazine well won't allow too much more than that anyway.