Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I work with a bunch of crazy but talented kids. I head a marketing division of a company and since I'm the most senior aboard (don't ask my age) I'm basically in charge of disciplining them aside from supervising them. I took a supervisory training specifically for this position but I feel like sometimes being with this "bunch" brings so much stress to me. 5 ESSENTIAL STEPS TO RESOLVE A CONFLICT AT WORK this was a nice read though. I wonder if there are tools available that would help me deal with conflicts in the workplace.

·
Registered
2,415 Posts
Serena

I am by no means an expert, but in the past when I supervised those who were a dozen years less or even half my age, I found that 1) focus on what productive skills they can bring to the table, and 2) give them freedom to do their jobs, but remind them that at the same time there are expectations and objectives to perform.

As far as conflicts, I would interview each involved to find out the different sides of the stories (the truth is always in the middle between two stories), then let them sit together (you observing) and let them hash it out. You always have a right to face your accuser (usually a conflict is one pitting against another). Most conflicts are a result of mixed messages and interpreting something different than what was intended. Most of the times, a conflict occurs without the "guilty" party even knowing they caused something.

Also, tact and professionalism are key to communicating to those you supervise. One of the worse things I've seen supervisors do is dance around the issue because they are afraid of confrontations. Be blunt, but be polite. I've also learned that being condescending or playing part in a "parent/child" lecture environment is going to just harbor bad feelings and present the basis for future issues. I would focus on the positive they provide first, then walk into the issue at hand.