Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Remington 1100, 33" barrell, made in the mid-to-late 70's. Will it handle steel shot? If not, what's the best recourse?

·
Registered
1,137 Posts
Manufacturer

The manufacturer is the best resource. I haven't seen a table on the Remington web site showing when they began producing shotguns with barrels approved for steel, but you should be able to e-mail them with your serial number and get an answer.

·
Registered
142 Posts
I never knew they made a 33 inch barrel, it should be stamped on it along with the choke. I don't think steel shot was even thought of in the 70's

·
Registered
6,295 Posts
I have a Wingmaster that has a 32 in. Full Choke barrell. Bought a 28 in. Remington barrell with tubes to shoot steel shot. Look around at a few of the gun shows (also known as toy, jewelry and sword show). I remember being very concerned about the size of steel I was shooting out of that 32 in. I have been out of the game for awhile in the ducks and geese, I'm sure a few of our resident water fowlers will chime in soon.

·
Registered
380 Posts
A pretty good rule of thumb to this question is this, remember that steel does not compact like lead. So where you shoot lead in a modified choke tube, if you were to shoot steel you are going to get a full pattern tighter. So if your barrel is a fixed choke barrel, I WOULD NOT SHOOT STEEL!! If you have an interchangeable choke, you should be fine, just don't go too tight.

That is a pretty good rule of thumb and most manufacturers first question will be do you have a fixed choke barrel.

·
Registered
960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yes, it's fixed choke. How do you measure the official length of a barrel? From muzzle to what point? The farthest point or to the chamber (like where the shell seats)?