Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if any of you guys have hunted with the Howell permit. This is my first year with one. I used to hunt out there as a kid in the good old days when you could jump any fence that wasnt posted :( . Im not askin for any specifics on areas, just how, you that have hunted there, liked the deal. I took a week off and will avoid it during the weekends to hopefully avoid any crowds. Also, has anyone else noticed an increase in chickens while duck hunting public land? Gonna have to hit that up to!

·
Registered
1,681 Posts
I hunted it once when I was 12. So 8 years ago. My best advice is to get there early and find a field that is away from where most trucks are parked (probably a hard thing to do.) My dad and I both got our limits, it was fun.

However, I am not quite sure if they still plant birds out there so maybe someone else can help you out with that. :?:

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
However, I am not quite sure if they still plant birds out there so maybe someone else can help you out with that.
The club still has the hunt, but it's not what it used to be. Carlos passed two years ago and the hunt has gone downhill since. Much of the land that was once available on the east side of town, including the old hunting club land, is now marked as "No Trespassing" and no longer participates in the hunt. The land down the middle of the valley is locked up in a hunting club.

·
Registered
1,681 Posts
BirdDogger said:
However, I am not quite sure if they still plant birds out there so maybe someone else can help you out with that.