Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some advice.. I am looking to get a good knife to use for cleaning game, mainly deer. I have knives that I can use to do waterfowl, they just didn't work so well on my first deer hunt last year. :shock:

So I am new to this whole quality knife thing. What would y'all suggest getting? I would like something that does a good job at keeping an edge and that it isn't too hard to sharpen..

I have been looking at the KOA Alpha Wolf with the D2 steel. It sounds like it might be a little tricky to sharpen.

I would like to stay under $50-$60 if possible..

Thanks!

·
Registered
248 Posts
KOA Alpha Wolf is great! Used it to clean my buck last year. I would also argue in favor of the Outdoor Edge game processor set ($80) [ I used this set to process my buck last year. ] I don't have the swing-blade, but they do put out quality knives.

·
Registered
1,327 Posts
I've got a Buck Vanguard that I like for all purpose stuff. It's 420HC steel and holds an edge decently well. I've hacked through several wrist sized pieces of wood and still had a decent edge left.

Not in the "quality knife" category, but I've also got a Havalon. They're great for skinning and some deboning/dismembering tasks. But, you have to use it within it's limitations. I've heard some people complaining that they've snapped blades, and most of the time it's because they were prying on something or doing some other task that the thin blade is not suited for. I love mine and would not think of heading out without it.

·
Super Moderator
9,800 Posts