Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to all this. Im shooting a bear authority that says its 315 fps. 70 pounds 30 inch draw. The guy at sportsmans warehouse set me up with vital impact arrows cut at 30 inches but they are 340 spine.

I just looked at the gold tip selection chart and it says I should be shooting 300 spine. I will be doing my first archery hunt next month. Should I just use 340 spine or should I buy 300 spine arrows? If so, what would you recommend? thanks

·
Registered
201 Posts
I cant imagine that being right. I shoot at 67 pounds at 30 inch draw but had to cut my 340 spine arrows to 26.75 inches to get them to shoot a 125 grain tip. I also shoot a 350 spine cut at the same with 100 grain tips and both spine ideally. My bow is a 330 FPS rating but is not optimized.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
here is a link to the selection chart. I used the chart on the left since i think im below 315fps. 70 lbs bow 30 inch arrow says 300 spine. Is that not correct?

sportsmans in Logan

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
I would venture you need a 250-280 spine to get an arrow on the stiffer side. Some of these shops really tick me off. I just restrung an x-force pulling 70lbs at a 29 inch draw and he was sold 400 spine arrows :shock:. He needed to be around a 280 spine. Poor guy was shooting wet noodles out of his bow.

·
Registered
565 Posts
Are you sure you're shooting the full 70lb capability of your bow, or is it backed off a bit? Are your arrows a full 30 inches long? If so, you are probably right, and you may need a stiffer arrow. Head down to the archery shop as mentioned and have them line you out. Do you really have a 30 inch draw length (pretty long)? If so, your arrows have got be a tad longer than that. Or do you have a 29.5" draw length and your arrows are 30? Either way, double check everything at the pro shop.

·
Registered
1,043 Posts