Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Banned
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm going muzzy hunting! Super excited! Been shooting my gun, it's hitting pretty good. But it seems like everyone I talk to is shooting more than 100 grains of powder. I'm currently sighted in with 100 gr. triple 7 and 250 gr. hornady sst. I don't want to shoot further than 150 yards. But let's say a scenario presents itself, and I need to shoot 200 yards, will that load set up perform well enough to kill an animal at that distance? Will more powder make me more accurate? Less accurate? I'm pretty new to this stuff so I'm asking for opinions. I'm not asking for opinions that 200 is too far and unethical. Thanks in advance! I can't wait to hopefully get a deer this year!!

·
Registered
2,315 Posts
Hunterchick, Im in the same boat as you and shooting the exact same load for deer this year. This is my first year with a muzzy. Looking forward to some responses on your thread here. :)

·
Registered
604 Posts
Only you and your rifle can say if your best accuracy is 100, 105, 110, ect grains of your powder. Different rifles like different loads so go try a few and see what you see. 100 grains is enough and if that is what your rifle likes then shoot it with confidence.

·
Registered
12 Posts
I shoot 100 grains by volume of blackhorn with a bonded 300 grain tc shockwave, complete pass through on my bull at 70 yards. He never knew what hit him, walked twenty yards and tipped over. Like muddydog said go try out your gun with different volumes and see what it likes best. Before my hunt everyone was saying to increase my volume to 120 grains of blackhorn, but I found my gun likes 100 best. Dead on at 100 with a 4 inch drop at 200 yards.

·
Registered
9,946 Posts
777 is hotter than normal Pyrodex to start with, the bottles all had that warning on them.