Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone used this powder? What kind of result's were you getting? And is there a local place that carries it?

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
I use it and I will only shoot "gold" now.

I got a jug at Cabelas, and it was like $20.00. I normaly use Pyrodex P and I shoot 100 gr. behind a 200gr. 10mm. gold dot bullet, out of my .45 cal. cva optima pro.

Using the Pyrodex my velocity was 1,775 fps. at the muzzel. With the Shockys Gold, same load and bullet it was 1,995 fps. The velocity only varied within 25 fps. with the gold. There was a 75 fps. diference between shots with the Pyrodex.

I love it, and will only use the gold from now on. This is only my opinion, and what I have tested. I'm not a rocket scientist, but if I can get a more accurate, and consistent load with the gold, it's what I'm using.

Best of luck to you!

·
Registered
812 Posts
i use it as well and i will not use anything else. better ignition and less clean up all good things in my opinion. cabela's is the only place that i have found it though.

·
Registered
256 Posts
I'm not crazy about it at all. It is very easy to clean up but the accuracy and consistancy are not good at all. There is a new powder out called Blackhorn 209 that is excellent if you can find it. It is just as easy to clean up as Shocky stuff and way more consistant over a chrony and my accuracy is much better with it in my TC with Barnes TMZs. I get 1.5" groups with it and clean up is a breeze.
Blackhorn is from Wester Powders Inc.

·
Registered
103 Posts
gunplay said:
There is a new powder out called Blackhorn 209 that is excellent if you can find it. Blackhorn is from Wester Powders Inc.
I got a case of it from MidwayUSA.com yesterday. 10/ 10 oz. cans for $329.95!!!! $20 of that was for haz Mat. I hope its as good as thay(YOU) say!!

·
Registered
25 Posts