Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I joined the forum recently. I know how these things normally go with guys joining and asking for honey holes and for other people to do all the work for them. I get it. That's not what I'm trying to do. I'm just looking to get some advice on what I'm doing.

So, I moved up here from TX last year. I was fortunate enough to get my first elk (a cow) in WY last year. However, this is my son's first year hunting big game. I am still learning and a lot of this is very new to me. I would love for my son to get an opportunity to harvest a cow elk. We both have tags in the Kamas Oakley unit. I'm not worried about my tag at this point. My whole goal is to get him on an elk. I chose this tag because all told, it offers us the possibility of about 11 weeks of hunting between the different seasons.

We went out this last weekend despite the weather. He was a trooper and didn't complain about the rain, snow, wind, etc. We hiked approximately 8 miles each day and saw nothing. Some of the points that I had picked out were so fogged in that we couldn't glass. We dropped elevation and I don't know how to find glassing spots at lower elevation apparently, so we ended up moving through the woods to try and bump something. Needless to say, we saw and heard nothing.

We spent our time on the southern portion of the unit accessing areas off of 150. This apparently was what the rest of the orange army decided to do as well. I was thinking of trying to go to the Northern part of the unit this next weekend, as it appears there is a little less public access and maybe there won't be as much pressure???