Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,501 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is what I've got going on.

I bought a lot, and am having a house built this summer. I thought it would be fun to get photos of the process as it moves from an empty lot, to completion. I thought it would be cool to put up a trail camera that could take pictures at regular intervals through the process, say, every hour or two during the daytime. When I'm done, I'll put them into a time-lapse video.

So that said, any recommendations for a trail cam that could do this? Are they programmable in that way? or only by motion detection? What should I be looking for? Any specific recommendations?

I live in a somewhat rural area - 1 acre lots, out of town. The neighbors will leave the camera alone. I will mount it to a fence post on the edge of the property.

Thoughts? Recommendations?

Reactions: Huge29

·
Registered
565 Posts
I'm no expert, but I know some of the Primos Truth Cams have time lapse. Here's an example. It talks about it at 00:39.

I bought one a month ago at Cabelas. I think they are still on sale with a $30 mail-in rebate.

·
Registered
1,004 Posts
Make sure you don't get one that automatically makes coyotes, huskies, great danes, marmots, racoons, ring-tailed lemurs, elk cows, beavers, bobcats, and foxes look like wolves to every ******* that looks at the pictures. I'm pretty sure it's a technical issue in most trail cams, not a problem with the *******.

·
Registered
1,472 Posts
A lot of cameras are capable of time lapse.

Here's a good source for comparisons. http://www.trailcampro.com