Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y'all,

I'm fairly new to hunting. I've been once when I was younger and never saw or shot anything.Always wanted to go back and actually get into this great sport and I finally decided to do it. Basically what I'm wondering is what should I read/do/practice to get ready for fall? I put in for rifle tags this year but if I don't draw I'll probably end up getting a general season Elk tag. Let me narrow down my questions to these:

1. Where should I hunt? I don't know much about Utah's wilderness. Don't know anyone or really anywhere outside of the Wasatch Front. Where would you recommend I start? The one time I went hunting was up north of vernal and man was it crowded!

2. What will I need? I have my 30-06, camouflage clothing, and a good knife. What should I invest in? Rangefinder? Binoculars?

3. What general advice would you give a new guy like me?

Thanks!

·
Registered
372 Posts