Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings!
I moved up here last year and this is my first year hunting the Cache unit. I'm jazzed to have a muzzle loader tag. From what I can gather it seems like there is enough public land in Logan, Prov, and Millville canyons. Since the unit is quite big, I am wondering where would be a good place to start scouting. I have been out a few times and haven't seen too much. I am assuming the deer will be pretty high still in late september unless we have a cold snowy fall. Anybody have any pointers for a newbie to the area? My first thoughts are to stick close to home since I live about 1/4 mile from the mouth of Prov canyon. Has that part of the area put out decent bucks historically?
Thanks for all the help!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am sure that Providence and Millville Canyons are in the Cache unit. Just not sure if those canyons have produced any large muley's...

·
Registered
159 Posts
Cache in general can produce some nice bucks but it wont be easy get up high and start scouting

·
Registered
133 Posts
I hunted Millville a few years ago one morning an didn't see much other than other hunters. I would get high if I was hunting prov or Millville canyons.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Mavis. I tend to find the biggest bucks in town too... too bad I don't have one of those City limits archery tags... ;) There is a ton of country on the faces of millvill, prov all the way down to logan canyon, but its not very accessible. Have the faces been good places historically? I don't mind hiking, I am just looking for some general areas that have held some decent deer in the past.

·
Registered
811 Posts
There's certainly deer on those faces but they are steep. They are a good option for an after work hunt. Check out the walk in access areas on the DWR's site.

·
Registered
1,311 Posts