Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I put in for the LE North Cache Archery Any Bull Elk with zero points as this was the first time I've even put in for LE Archery Elk/ Any legal weapon Elk in general. When I received my draw results, to no big surprise, I did not draw for the LE North Cache Archery Any Bull Elk hunt. Well after a couple of weeks after I received my draw results, the DWR called me up and said they had an LE archery tag with my name on it if I wanted it. I TOOK IT!!!

I'm a beginner at archery hunting and well...at hunting in general. Though I've been hunting for the past five years, I've taken two bucks, two swan, and one cow elk. I've learned that you need to put your time in before each hunt if you want to harvest anything.

I've been scouting the North Cache unit and have seen some cows and a couple of rag horns. I know this is a low success hunt, and I'm asking any of you that are out there for any suggestions on where to see/harvest a great bull elk on this unit.

Thanks in advance,

P.s. the mosquitoes are dreadful this year!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, I've never shot a bull elk, period ...so right now the few rag horns I've seen are starting to look like "great bulls" to me. BUT, I don't want to waste this tag an a rag horn/spike. I've heard there have been some nice bulls harvested on this unit in the past, but now they are "sort of" few and far between. I guess I'm looking for a 300+ bull.

·
Registered
713 Posts