Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im getting into archery, Ive got a pretty nice bow with a quiver, what else will i need to get to get into the whole bow hunting thing, sights, rests, ect, any reccomendations on good equipment??? My bow only has some old brass sights right now. What about peep sights & whisker biscuts & that type of stuff. I am a VERY beginner at this archery stuff & dont know anything about it. Im hoping to be good enough by fall to stick my first archery deer. Any help would be great. Any recommendations on who could set this stuff up for me??

·
Registered
801 Posts
What kind of bow? Do you plan on shooting a mechanical release or just using your fingers? There's so much gear that it would be impossible to list it all, but FishGlyph gave you some good advice. I personally prefer a drop-away rest and a release. At least that's what I shoot best with. Probably the most important thing is to make sure you have a place to shoot regularly. Spending time with your bow will do more for you than any particular trick gadget you may encounter. So find a range nearby or get a target. I also like peep sights. There are a bunch of them available so choose one you like. And my last suggestion would be get a rangefinder or practice ranging stuff a lot. Most shots are missed because distance is misjudged.

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
If you want to meet with some guys that are up to date and are not just there to hustle your money and run ya out the door, They have the time to instruct, talk to you and know their stuff, go see the two youngsters at Wild Arrow in Layton, Also they won't put down your equipement, like one shop in SLC Does,

·
Registered
1,243 Posts
FishGlyph said:
As everyone has told me... "Go see Gerald, Curly or Jason at Utah Archery Center." They offer great customer service and give you the information you need to get started up right.
+1

·
Registered
1,363 Posts