Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening everyone. I can't express how excited I am to hunt here in Utah. I recently got stationed here in Utah (Hill AFB). I've been hunting for 20 years now but it's all been back home on my farm in Virginia. I've been doing a lot of research on Muley hunting and I'm looking towards the challenge. I put in for archery for units that I though I would have a good chance in drawing (wasatch front, Fillmore, Ogden, cache and Monroe). I also applied for the DH program as well for the same units. So enough typing... What are my chances of drawing this year with the zero points since I'm a new resident? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and looking forward to chatting.

·
Registered
2,187 Posts
IF I'm not mistaken you should have almost a 100% chance for Archery Deer on most of the general units, less of a chance on the LE units.

I think you can usually buy an over the counter tag for archery? Someone will chime in that knows for sure. Study your chosen areas though, I know Ogden has a lot of private ground (I used to hunt it).

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the help. I've pulled up each unit and noticed that there is quite a bit of private land on cache and Ogden. Whoever draws a moose tag in Ogden shouldn't have a problem tagging out. Haha. I ride my four wheeler up towards Mantua and see moose everytime I go. How about the dedicated hunters program? Is it hard to draw first time with 0 pref points?

·
Registered
2,187 Posts
Don't know about the DH program but I can tell you it's really not finding the Moose that's the problem...it's the 20+ year wait to actually draw the tag that poses the biggest challenge.

I have 8 points and if things stay the way they are I'll be collecting social security before I ever draw a moose permit. I'm 36.

·
Registered
501 Posts