Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
650 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was thinking today about how much archery has evolved and changed not only in equipment, but "theories" of how to hunt. Some of the things we used to believe or tried to sell are interesting to think about. For instance, I started shooting archery before the days of compound bows. The theory then was that a pass thru shot was not a desired shot. Lower poundage bows were used with the intentions of keeping the arrow inside the animal so as it ran off, the broad head would continue to cut and do more damage, eventually killing the animal.

I thought it would be fun to bring up some of the old things that were taught and believed but weren't necessarily true. Here are a couple more that I remember:

People only shoot replaceable blade broad heads because they are too lazy or don't know how to sharpen a cut on contact blade.

Replaceable blade broad heads need to be outlawed because they don't penetrate as well as a cut on contact blade. It takes 9 lbs of pressure for a cut on contact blade to penetrate a green hide, and upwards of 27 lbs or more for a conical head to penetrate the same green hide. Based upon this information, advocates of the cut on contact blades tried to sell the idea that a c.o.c. blade would penetrate up to 3 times deeper than a replaceable blade broad head. Although they do penetrate better, the myth was the "3 times" better.

Carbon arrows used to have cautions / warnings that were posted on the shaft box warning the users that carbon fiber splinters could be left in the animal and if eaten, would cause a health hazard.

Anyone remember others that they would like to share?

·
Banned
55 Posts