Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok here's the deal. I am going to set up a small camp in my bow hunting spot. Just a small tent, a few cases of water and non-perishable foods. I will be using the camp as a base for all my scouting from now till the hunt.

This is a roadless area, but I do have a 1 free pass ride thru a gate. 1 trip to haul my stuff in, and 1 trip to haul my stuff out.

I've never done this type of thing before. I am wondering what type of tent is best? I would think something waterproof and that can withstand high winds..
Any other advise or opinions from anyone who had done this, or has an idea, is appreciated. Thanks

·
Premium Member
8,501 Posts
Don't take anything you are not afraid to lose or be upset if it is taken. That is, if it is on public lands. Forest Service rules prohibit you from having the same camping spot for more than 14 consecutive days. Though it is a rule that abused by many, ignored by some, and not enforced as much as it could be.

Reactions: wyogoob

·
Administrator
21,449 Posts
I do it every year on the National Forest. Technically its littering.

Gary is right; don't be afraid of losing your stuff.

The best advice I can offer is keep dry and don't pack until 15 minutes before you leave.

·
Registered
854 Posts
one free ride? Does that mean horseback? atv? is it private land? If you have the means to take in a bit of gear I would honestly opt for a normal tent that you could stand up in. if not any backpacking tent would do. just find an area that have a little cover from the elements and stake it down good. if its public ground just take it down every time and stash it. Most backpacking tents only take a few minutes to put up.

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·