Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a short barreled 308 that I plan on using on my first deer hunt this season. I've been shooting 168grn HPBT federal premium match with good results, but am looking for more of a hunting round. Keeping in mind that groups open up with lighter and cheaper rounds, do you guys have any recommendations for factory loads? I dont have access to reloading gear .

·
Registered
367 Posts
If you're in a position where you are limited to factory ammunition, then it will likely come down to trial and error. Any 150-180 bullet that you can find that is legal for hunting (an expanding bullet) and isn't strictly designed for target shooting will be acceptable. While I have little experience with a .308 specifically, it's little brother the .243 made Winchester Nosler ballistic silver tips shoot pretty well. Once I started reloading they became virtually impossible to find anywhere. However, it is quite incredible what they do when you lace one behind the shoulder on a white tail or pig. I don't see why they wouldn't do exceptionally well beefed up to a .30 caliber on mule deer.
Alternatively,Winchester Power-Points, Remington Core-lokts, and Hornady Interlocks would prove to be perfectly acceptable and cheaper alternatives to get more practice in.

·
Registered
2,059 Posts
I have a .308 with a 22" bull barrel and every bullet that I have shot out of it pretty much shoots the exact same out of it. I have shot 150 grain corelokts, 165 grain SST's, 180 grain silvertips and now I have some handloaded stuff that I am confident will shot the exact same. It has been a good gun out to 300 yards.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm talking 16.5"barrel. 1:10 twist. Should I just stick with what I know and use the hpbt? My groups really open up when using cheaper lighter grain stuff.

·
Registered
367 Posts