Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok this might be a dumb question but I'm new to using a single pin sight. What is the easiest/best way to sight in with this sight (cbe tek hybrid) how do I go about picking the best sight tape? Also which set of holes should I have the needle for my yardage adjustment mounted on before I begin to try and sight in? Thanks

·
Registered
233 Posts
With the sight pin, you need to know how fast your are shooting or the other option is usually shooting at 20, 30, 40, 60 and marking them. Then taking that to your pro shop and they can print you off a sight tape. If you know how fast your bow shoots your arrow setup, then the manufacturer usually includes a sight tape based on that already.

·
Registered
650 Posts
I setup my single pin (mount) to the holes that gives me the most yardage. i.e., I can get my sure loc to go from 20 yards to 180 yards, depending upon the arrow combination I am using.

As far as sight tapes, I don't trust any thing you purchase, too many variables. I have a chorono and I have a program (T.A.P.) and I print my own. I am frequently changing arrow setups, so I need to print new sight tapes quite often. Changing from fletchings to vanes will affect your sight tape as well as changing the poundage of the bow, or moving your peep, adding something or taking something off the string, or even extending the sight out from the bow. I would suggest investing in a computer program and a chorono. The great thing about a computer program is you can experiment on line with various arrow setups and see what the arrow performance will be without investing time or money in arrows. I drew a loper permit this year so I will be playing with different setups to see what arrow is the flattest shooting with adequate penetration at 50 - 70 yards. Then I will build the arrow and shoot it thru my chrono, after which I will print out a sight tape.