Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Bjorne Lou Tsar
3,340 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had sooty cases before but they were from under pressure loads or work-hardened necks. This is a proven load in this gun. I'm on my 8th load with this batch of Lapua 6.5x284 brass and they've been annealed twice since I started shooting them.
The picture shows what I'm talking about. It's already been resized so some of the soot has been wiped off but there's still a lot on there. I don't think it's an under sized load or work hardened necks. Anyone have soot this bad? What am I missing?

·
Registered
9,980 Posts
Never seen that in any of my rifles... my .22-250 will get soot up to the shoulder if the neck splits, but beyond that I haven't run into it.

How far back are you setting the shoulder from the chamber dimensions?

-DallanC

·
Bjorne Lou Tsar
3,340 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I adjust my die until my bolt barely closes easily. I have a different set of dies and shell holder for each of my 6.5x284s. I just measured my shoulder set-back at .0015.
I've had cases with lube residue still on them that give me high pressure signs before. But that's different. I was shooting in the pouring rain and my cases were wet when I chambered them (hey, if you're going to hunt in the rain, ya gotta practice shooting in the rain). Wet case = clue maybe? I don't know.

·
Administrator
7,936 Posts
I have seen cases from my AR look like this before, but I just figured it was due to the way gas escaped an AR. But Ive never seen that in a bolt gun...

·
Bjorne Lou Tsar
3,340 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I went up and shot again tonight. Same thing...soot. Six out of 22 were sooty. Hmmm...
After the latest post by Waspocrew about brass annealing, I'm wondering if I'm getting a consistent or too low annealing temp. I know the last few times I held the brass in my fingers and rolled the necks in the flame. But, in Waspocrew's post I said: