Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
680 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was out chasing chukars over the weekend and had an interesting thing happen. Most of the areas I hunt are BLM with the occasional square mile of state trust land. I've hunted them interchangeably but this trip I followed a road on BLM land that crossed onto trust land with no gate. I eventually came to what appeared to be a range fence but it was gated instead of having a cattle-guard. I checked my GPS and, sure enough, that fence was the boundary where it switched back to BLM. Anyone else seen this? I'm fairly new to this whole thing so maybe it happens all the time. I just wasn't sure if I was legal to park there and hop the fence or if it meant "KEEP OFF".

·
Registered
3,196 Posts
Only for very special reasons would the BLM land be closed, and it would be clearly marked. Now SITLA(trust) ground, although being owned by the State, is not technically "public property". They can and do close property, erect fenses, etc. at their discretion. Did you know that the DWR actually has to pay SITLA for the right for you, a licensed Utah hunter to hunt? My guess is that the fence was erected by SITLA for cattle crazing reasons. If you're sure the other side of the fence is BLM you should be free to enter, hunt, fish, etc.

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
The division has an agreement right now that all SITLA land is fair game to hunt. I read the agreement a couple years ago and there was nothing in it about limiting access of any kind. I personally have never seen any SITLA land that I couldn't hunt, but I am sure it exists in or near more populated areas or perhaps for oil and gas processing plants. BLM does lease lots of grazing permits and I am guessing the fence was to keep cows on BLM and off of SITLA or vice versa.