Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I went to the range last week. I loaded up some of my precious Varget. 43.5 grains shooting a 168gr. Amax. I also loaded up some RL15. 43.5gr. shooting a 168gr Amax. To be honest, I noticed no difference in accuracy at the 100 and 200 yard ranges. I wanted to compare the RL15 as my last outing it was phenomenal shooting a heavier 178gr. Amax, dang near same hole at 100 yards. So I suppose the question is why Varget? Book data seems to be fairly close between these two. Is it a longer distance performance thing? Remember I am still learning so be gentle.

Cheddar

Attachments

·
Registered
10,211 Posts
Varget is an "extreme" powder, meaning it wont change burn rate on hot vs cold days. Other powders you have to be careful of that sortof thing, especially if you develop hot load on a cool day... it might be well over pressure on a hotter day.

-DallanC

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The pics in this thread are from a 308win. which is proving to be a pretty accurate gun thus far. I have another thread of some pics and discussions on my 270win I am working on titled "Tried and true 270 hunting load"

Cheddar

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
I like Varget because it's been very consistent (and I was able to find a lot of it at the time). It also shot well in my 308 and 22-250 (which was nice as well). Good shooting!

·
Registered
56 Posts
Varget is an "extreme" powder, meaning it wont change burn rate on hot vs cold days. Other powders you have to be careful of that sortof thing, especially if you develop hot load on a cool day... it might be well over pressure on a hotter day.

-DallanC
Yup, and from my experience and most others I've spoken to, most Reloder powders are on the other end of the spectrum. I've seen some pretty wild variations from RL 22 and RL 25.

·
Registered
642 Posts