Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
JMgardner
418 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Fair warning, this will probably come off as a rant, and it is. but I cant be the only one bitten by this.

This is my first year to actually put in for any kind of draw in utah, as i just moved here last fall for graduate school. I've spent hours on this forum gleaning information, as well as hours scouring through the not so simple website that is DWR. I put my wife and I in both for general season archery deer, and LE archery elk, both on the cache. Unsuccessful on elk, but successful on deer. yay for us. However, being from Alabama, I would like to take advantage of every opportunity to chase elk in my short time here, so i put in for the antlerless. Now i didn't go willy nilly about this. I looked up this years available permits, last years odds. compared numbers as far as which units got more tags this year than last, looked at terrain, etc. I really feel i did my due diligence as far as trying to give my self the best chances for my wife and I to draw. I have a fair understanding of how the utah draw system works (at least as much as a newbie can) and was really struggling with what areas to put as 1st and 2nd choice, since it is my understanding that second choice is pretty much useless anyways. and two days ago, i filled out our apps.