Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to this forum and was brand new to the DWR forum when they shut it down, I moved here from Michigan about 8 months ago so I am new to hunting elk and Mule Deer. I have been hunting the Wasatch Front for more than a month now for both Deer and Elk. I have run into a bunch of deer, and seen a couple of nice bucks up in East Canyon. Ive hunted up in Lambs Canyon and both of the Cottonwoods. I have seen "some" sign of elk but not a ton. I have yet to see any elk. I was wondering if anyone can help me, possibly lead me to a place where they know there are some elk, you dont have to give away any secret spots, I am more then willing to work my a$$ off to get into them. if anyone can help me i would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
201 Posts
If you have been hunting up in East canyon, I have been up there recently and have seen a few elk, all the elk I have seen are right on the county line they tend to cross over from East canyon into the extended area. They are up there but getting to them is very hard with all the pressure, but you can park at the parking area at the summit of East canyon and hike out the trail head going south if you get in there a couple of miles there are elk but good like finding them.

·
Registered
1,255 Posts
Are they bugling yet? I have seen cows down low to, had one at 70 yards last year with no shot
I'm guessing in the last six years that they have bugled. This thread is pretty old.

sorry, but i don't have any first hand info on the elk getting vocal.

·
Registered
5,768 Posts
I was wondering if anyone can help me, possibly lead me to a place where they know there are some elk, you dont have to give away any secret spots, I am more then willing to work my a$$ off to get into them. if anyone can help me i would be greatly appreciated!