Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've enjoyed many of the posts in the forums over the years but this is my first time ever posting. My brother was lucky enough to draw the 2016 Wasatch Moose Tag from the Expo! We are both born and raised Utah'ns and have spent 30+ years hunting elk, deer and antelope. We have seen Moose here and there over the years and have caught a random one on our trail cams on occasion. However, we really don't have a good idea on where to begin if we want a quality hunt with opportunity at some decent bulls. We are, and have always been, DIY'ers so the idea of a guide isn't appealing. We will put in the time and effort needed to figure this thing out. We we're just in hopes that someone out there may have been in the same situation in the past and might be willing to share their experiences. We are not even sure what our expectations should be for the size of moose to look for. This is an any weapon hunt but my brother would love to hunt with his bow...but is not opposed to using the rifle.

Any help that anyone could give would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Congrats,
That is luck indeed!
The Wasatch is a big unit and there are moose scattered in most of it. I don't think there is any one best spot. To find a big bull you will have to put lots of boot leather on the ground and make as many contacts as you can with fellow outdoorsmen/campers, etc. to assist in you locating one. Moose are surprisingly secretive and despite being big and black they spend most warm days laying in a shady spot, only coming out early and late to feed. Best of luck on a great adventure.

·
Registered
2,051 Posts
I would bet that with the any weapon tag that you are going to want to try and hold out for a 40" bull or thereabouts. I don't have experience on the Wasatch, but plenty of people on here do, so stick around and contribute, and i'm sure you'll get some good info.