Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
1,506 Posts
I have been listening to this most the day. All I can say is very interesting.

·
Senior Goof
3,605 Posts
Justin: I don't agree with that. Boundaries are as consistent as we can make them at this point.

Board: Question, question, push, question... Do you agree yet? Question.. Push.

Justin: Ummmm....

After all the no's and rational why.. Board: "Let's defer and talk about this again."

Some of this has been painful today. I have a management degree, I try and develop leadership skills. I am fit to lead people. It is apparent that "Management" skills are not applicable to wildlife though. There are many mangers on the board, but it doesn't sound like they even hunt. They don't know anything about equipment or the animals. The most concerning thing is when someone has a legit view with data, John instantly dismisses it. It looks like it is the John Opinion show. I don't even know the guy or have any basis for this view other than watching him today.

He just bashed the 1X and said its "negative" magnification. That is a quote. For a guy with astigmatism, I sure enjoy it. "They know how far they can shoot, it's still a muzzleloader" "They won't shoot any further"... Tell that to Gunwerks 700+ yard shots. People will without a doubt shoot further.

·
Senior Goof
3,605 Posts
So, looking at their Chart. Henry Mountains. B:D looking for 40-50 (big range). They had a pop objective of 2000, at 2200, new objective is 2700. What is the basis of this? 125% increase because?

Just trying to get a scope on if these proposals are based on simplistic management of "More is better" or what.

·
Senior Goof
3,605 Posts
John is actually a BIG TIME hunter. But I see what you are saying.
Good to know. It's just hard listening to some of this. Not because my opinion is correct, but because many of the statements are OPINIONS that could effect our state's hunting in major ways. I haven't heard many facts.