Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to hunting and drew a tag for West Wasatch general buck tag. I have been looking at my OnX and decided to check out a couple of spots west of strawberry lake. I have tried two weekends in a row now to go scouting and it seems very hard to go up the roads as they are super rocky and seems like it would take forever to get there. Are there better roads to take to go into wasatach or are they all rocky. It seems like you would need an Atv to go hunting over there. Please let me know if you guys know if maybe there are better roads to go in from.

·
Registered
6,608 Posts
Gezz
You should have seen the Wasatch West roads back in the 70s!

Highways now.....LOL

·
Registered
2,450 Posts
Drive up the oil road next to the reservoir and park at any pull out and begin hoofing it up the hill. Sit on a log when you get to the top and wait. Its so dang busy on that unit you'll have a deer pushed passed you.

·
Super Moderator
9,464 Posts
Back in the 60's and early 70's more people hunted out of cars than trucks I believe. People couldn't afford two vehicles and those that had trucks usually had a business to uses them for. Even cars were hauling big trailers instead of trucks.

But like Taxidermist said, park at the bottom and start hoofing it. That is all we used to do before everyone had a 4x4, ATV, or motorcycle.

One thing if you don't like the rocks now wait until it gets wet.

·
Super Moderator
9,464 Posts
When I was in high school I had a old 42 Ford Military Jeep and during the deer hunts I could keep myself in spending money by towing folks out of the hills with it. Mostly in the Wasatch West area in Hobble Creek Canyon, Squaw Peak loop road and Strawberry down to Shoulder Summit.