Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am really wanting to get more into coyote hunting. I have gone a few times, but have not been able to take one down yet. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong. Where does everyone go? Where is the public land that is good for it? Do you have any advice for a beginner?

·
Super Moderator
3,550 Posts
Superchunk -

Not to be rude, but no one is going to tell you exactly, or even remotely close, to where they go coyote hunting. Due to the bounty and awesomeness of coyote hunting, people are pretty tight lipped about good coyote spots - the old adage goes, "loose lips sink ships."

I am a novice coyote hunter, but here are a few tips that I have found out about. First off, call the local DNR office and speak to a biologist and ask them for a recommendation on where you can have a good chance at finding coyotes. Generally speaking, when coyotes are becoming a problem in a certain area, the DNR will get complaint calls. Sometimes they will pass the area from where the complaint calls come from, and sometimes they will not. Next, don't be afraid to use a mouth call instead of an electric call. Coyotes can be super smart and they will be call shy this time of year. Finally, find the food source and you'll find coyotes. Right now is calving season for a lot of the ranchers across the state. Coyotes are opportunistic and won't pass up a free meal of a weak calf or afterbirth. Scout areas that have cattle herds nearby and you'll more-than-likely find coyotes.

Good luck and welcome to the forum.

·
Administrator
7,995 Posts
I would also encourage you to attend one of the many free seminars on predator hunting / calling that pop up regularly. I have learned a lot from those.

You may even consider paying to hunt with a guide once or twice to learn a few tricks of the trade. Guided predator hunts aren't terribly expensive.